our History

The History of Good Shepherd Lutheran Church

Good Shepherd Lutheran Church was organized in 1960 by a group of 250 Charter Members. Our membership has changed over the years, but we now have over 520 baptized members.  Good Shepherd is a member of the Minnesota South District of the Lutheran Church – Missouri Synod, with headquarters in St. Louis, Missouri.


The first worship unit was built in 1960, which presently serves as the auditorium and kitchen area. The second unit was built in 1970 and serves as our sanctuary with classrooms and offices located along the west hallway.

Through the years, Good Shepherd has been served by faithful pastors:


  • Rev. E.J.A. Marxhausen (1960-61)
  • Rev. George Perlich (1961-68)
  • Rev. James P. Lauer (1969-76)
  • Rev. Layton L. Lemke (1976-98)
  • Rev. Philip W. Penhallegon (2000-04)
  • Rev. James F. Gomez (2005-15)
  • Rev. Jon E. Niebuhr (2017-Present)

Rev. Raymond Wiebold, Rev. Kurt Lehmkuhl, Rev. Don Urbach,  Rev. Robert Nowak have served as Vacancy Pastors.


Good Shepherd also has been served by men and women who work with the Youth and Education programs:

  • Paula Bauer
  • Jean Birkholz
  • DCE Brian Jensen
  • Eric Altenbernd
  • Michelle Moorhead
  • Paul Wendt
  • Lloyd Gomez
  • Sue Glawe
  • DCE George Senechal
  • DCE Traci Kohls
  • Kim Busse
  • DCE Matthew Harwell


Ted Stroming who is serving as our Director of Christian Education from March 2015-Present.


Marjorie Hemmann has served as Church Secretary (since 1972) and now as Office Manager since 1999.

Good Shepherd employs a Council-driven system of governance. The Council is comprised of all members from five official boards: Presidents, Deacons, Trustees, Education, and Finance. The Pastor, Youth & Education Coordinator, and Recording Secretary also are council members. This group meets monthly and makes most decisions on behalf of the congregation. The Voters meet twice a year for naming council members and approving the annual budget.


We enjoy a well-documented history thanks to historian Elaine Griesmann. Please, visit our church and ask to look through the items in our History Center and yearly Confirmation photos.